Gaming motherboards

Hi this is my first time posting, thank you in advance for the advice.
I want to build a custom computer built for gaming, what are some good motherboards for this?

Laquer Head

How about first, whats your overall budget? Do you need everything new, or do you have any parts to use on a new build?

There are a billion and one motherboards on the market so choices are endless, we need to narrow down what you as the user do, so we can make appropriate suggestions for you.!

Cisco001

where are you?
What is your overall budget for all component?
What programme will you run?
Will you overclock?
When you say custom build, I guess it mean you assemble it yourself?

Id rather get everything new, I do have parts I could use if nessacary. My budget is $400
Cisco001 I'm on Utah and I plan on ordering all the parts offline. I'm not going to overclock. Yea that's what I mean by custom. I don't know much when it comes to computers. I got interested in computers when my buddy gave me a computer a couple years ago. The computer I have now is a Asus p8z68-v lx. It has a Asus graphics card powered by nvidia. The case is a cooler master glite.

beers

Staff member
What specific components do you have right now? (CPU, RAM, GPU, PSU)

For $400 and a Z68 board you could probably just upgrade your current PC which would be more cost effective.

I have no idea what components I have. What is the gpu and psu?
how would i find out what components I have. I know I can take the side cover off and look at my cpu and ram.

TrainTrackHack

VIP Member
The i5 2500k should still be very solid for gaming, I second the suggestion that you upgrade your computer rather than building new. If it can't handle games now, your GPU is probably a bit weak or you might need more RAM.

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member