help - need new laptop

I am new to laptops and have never had one before. I also do not know a WHOLE lot about computers and all, like OCing. I did build this computer I am using and all though.

I read through some threads trying to decide if I should look for an AMD or Intel. I am thinking AMD, with dedicated video memory.

One I saw

That is one computer that seems to be an ok deal. Have any of you seen any better deals? I don't need the huge hard drive, 40 would probably do for me on the laptop...but then again the hard drives all are pretty big these days...I do want it to be fast though and have plenty of memory, and be upgradable for memory as well. Anyways, I just don't know what all to look for when it comes to laptops, and want to get one (and if I do it would need wireless internet in it, well..preferred anyways). I don't want to spend too much, that one in the link above is probably a little costly for me, but it seems like its an ok deal...are there better ones?

jjsevdt

If you're talking a bout laptops, Use the intel centrino It's made specifcally for lap tops to reduce battery stain and give you a better overall performance

alanuofm

VIP Member
i just got a dell for 824$. has 256 mb of pc2700, pentium M 725 1.6 ghz w/ 64 mb radeon 9000 dedicated. it plays counter strike 1.6 with 250 fps. hehe. i ordered it for my sister for general use and a similar cmoputer elsewhere would be around 1500. dell has really good computers.

What is this about the centrino? I haven't heard of it (but then again I am just now starting to look at laptops for the first time). Does it just help with the battery? It seems to cost a little more money by what I have noticed. Is the speed any faster for it cuz it seems pretty expensive for something basic.