How to get a web site...

georgi0u

Hey guys,

Dont newb flame this message just for the title. Im a semi-rookie web designer (little html and mostly frontpage ((javascript is being learned now))) and ive just been making fake sites (no hosting) or paying a reseller for access onto his server. Is there n e way i could use my rig here at home as a server for a site? For example, could i host a .com website simple off of my personal pc assuming that i didnt care that the site would go down when i shut down my comp? Please help

-georgi0u

flame1117

banned
He wants to know if he can use his set-up as a server and host a domain on it.

How much space do you neeD? I can prabally host you for free, on either a subdomain, or a real domain for 10$'s a year(thats what it costs me) php and all that stuff suports everything and i can give you more space and bandwith then any free spaces i know of....

(No, I don't have a hosting ocmpany, I just pay for a host that gives me plenty of extra space)

flame1117

banned
how much space do you need...

Also as far as i know if you plan on having downloads then it will be slow if there is alot fof peoplea t once.

Travo925

georgi0u said:
in other words if anyone wants to help me understand it id be very welcom

where are you having trouble, I would be more then happy to help...PM me...or if you have aim, my screenname is travo925

Platinum

Also, check if your ISP allows it. I'm from Long Island (travo, where LI you from?) and my host, Optimum Online doesn't allow me to host a server. Even though they don't allow me, I used to, but you can have your service taken away. It depends on how much bandwidth you'll be using, if it gets a lot of hits, then you may want to think about using a free service, brinkster, angelfire, etc. If it's just for file sharing, and small websites with few visitors, than you should be fine. Just check into the legal aspects of it with your ISP so you don't get screwed over.

Travo925

Platinum said: