How to install multiple operating systems

Read this before you Start.

This thread is for the instruction and discussion of Multibooting (or Dual Booting) different operating systems on one machine. Although my post only explains Windows, a Linux guide can be found Here! (It is currently being revised though.) I have not included Mac OS X since the same basic steps apply to it, I have no experience with Mac OS X either, and since installing Mac OS X on a normal non-apple machine (known as Hackintosh) is illegal and against EULA, it is not appropriate to post it on this website.

Multibooting a computer says what it does, it is the act of installing two or more Operating Systems on one machine, whether all on one hard drive (partitioned) or spread across an Array of disk drives. If you have a x64 architecture processor, you can use either x64 or x32 (x86) operating systems, but, as usual, you can not run a x64 OS on a machine that only supports x32. It is a good idea to get some experience with these terms and other things (like installing Operating Systems) before you attempt this. It is also a good idea to back up your data, as it may be exposed to being deleted in the process.

Multibooting a computer is useful where Virtual Machines fail. If you have a low spec machine, Virtual Machines can be quite power hungry, and may not function correctly, that is just one scenario where multibooting is a good move to make.

As long as you are not creating a Hackintosh partition, or using pirated OS installation disks, this is perfectly LEGAL. I hope you find this helpful and informative.

Created: 18th August 2012 , Date Reviewed: 19th August 2012
---------------------------------------------
Background information.

FOR VERSIONS OF WINDOWS ONLY.

EDIT: If I have not included this, apparently there is a GRUB option in Linux which allows it to be easily installed with Windows OS's, as long as you run Linux last, even after the earliest Windows OS.