How to install Windows 10

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by WhoX, Aug 11, 2015.

  1. Jiniix

    Jiniix Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,358
    It's not a loop hole, it's a part of the Anniversary Update that all 7 and 8.1 keys work with 10 again.
    You can literally type in a 7/8.1 key straight in to an unactivated 10 and it'll accept it.
     
    Darren likes this.
  2. 2048Megabytes

    2048Megabytes Active Member

    Messages:
    4,414
    Windows 10 Home Edition has got to be one of the worst operating systems ever released by Microsoft. It is loaded with ad software and spy software and takes control of the operating system away from the user on various functions. If I ever go with Windows 10 I will be going with the professional version with no Cortana and it also gives control of the operating system back to the user. Linux and my own specialized version of Windows 7 where I avoid many software updates is where I am going now.
     
  3. Grantapus

    Grantapus Member

    Messages:
    536
    Even the pro version comes loaded with ads and bloat ware.
     
  4. 2048Megabytes

    2048Megabytes Active Member

    Messages:
    4,414
    So System Administrators are making their own customized version of Windows 10? I have heard that Windows 10 Professional allows administrators control of the operating system to keep the data mining from going on. I am going to avoid Windows 10 as long as possible.

    The Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit operating system supports 192 gigabytes of memory. I do not think I will be leaving it for years to come. I will just use my own third party software for security.
     
  5. Grantapus

    Grantapus Member

    Messages:
    536
    Good choice
     
  6. beers

    beers Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,492
    That works until there's an underlying RPC type of vulnerability that impacts a lower layer of the OS.
     
  7. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,138
    So what are you gonna do when no more security updates will be provided for windows 7? You'll have a very vulnerable OS....
     
  8. 2048Megabytes

    2048Megabytes Active Member

    Messages:
    4,414
    When Windows 7 has a lot of security vulnerabilities in it I will likely move toward Linux for Internet activity. Probably I will still use Windows 7 to game on local video games until driver support is gone for it. But then there are virtual machines.
     
  9. beers

    beers Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,492
    I think that day is already here, none of the new processor platforms support W7 :p
     
    Darren likes this.
  10. 2048Megabytes

    2048Megabytes Active Member

    Messages:
    4,414
    If there is no driver support for Advanced Micro Devices Socket AM4 for Windows 7 then likely my next upgrade may be an Intel Socket LGA 1151. A processor like the Intel Core i7 6700K is as powerful as an AMD Ryzen 5 1500X processor and there is driver support for Windows 7 operating system. That may buy me several more years of keeping away from Windows 10.
     
  11. beers

    beers Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,492
    That's kind of a stupid reason, to be blunt.

    Kaby Lake also does not support Windows 7.
     
    Darren likes this.
  12. Rittwik

    Rittwik New Member

    Messages:
    1
    How can i fix this ?? My computer isn't starting....
     

    Attached Files:

  13. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,138
    Its not detecting a hard drive, you also need to disable network boot in the bios. Hard drive could be shot.
     
  14. Darren

    Darren Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,161
    And Windows 7 support ends in 2 years...

    And Windows 10 > Windows 7 but that's a whole different debate. :D
     
  15. 2048Megabytes

    2048Megabytes Active Member

    Messages:
    4,414
  16. Darren

    Darren Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,161
  17. TheRealSwede

    TheRealSwede Member

    Messages:
    101
    I really do not understand any of these "windows 10 is full of ads"-stuff..
    I have never seen an ad inside Windows, only in webpages..

    And to say something about the "spy software" I have never heard of any one beeing able to point out any spysoftware within windows 10, Telemetry YES! But that is highly adjustable as of today!

    I really did not thinck it was so until I bought a professional installation guide on a Swedish webbsite..
    And in this, amongst other things he goes through every integrity-setting you may find in the latest Windows 10 versions..
    And IT-professionals agree on these settings to really reduce the telemetry-data that is sent..

    You who are curious may check his recently set up English website: www.windowsguides.eu
    As I understand he has translated the, what he calls, THE ULTIMATE WINDOWS 10 INSTALLATION-GUIDE to English and made it avaliable to even more people.. That would be the English version of the same guide I did buy.

    Well! That is my two cents anyway…
    I rant a little because I get so tired on people accusing microsoft to SPY on their uses, while the same people uses google, chrome and other software that are designed to STEAL your data, your computer habits and so on, simply to show you ads..
    Google steals 10 times more data, and user habits from you every day, than windows 10 does…
    Yet people use google (and windows 10)
     
  18. _Kyle_

    _Kyle_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,037
    Just a friendly tip, read the date these are posted. You are replying to a nearly two year old thread. However, welcome to CoFo! :)
     
    AlienMenace likes this.
  19. AlienMenace

    AlienMenace Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,052
    It is because of the Privacy Issues, You need to go into the Privacy settings and turn off the tracking ads. Also, of late. I really don't appreciate the fact that Windows 10 is forcing you to use One drive. That you have to manually turn off sync and try to keep your files on the PC. I just found that one out a few days ago. I was trying to save a certain "Calc file", and since I didn't have one drive on it wouldn't save to the file. About two or so years ago PCWorld did a few articles on this. And it tells you how to get rid of it all.

    And yea, it is a 2 year old post.
     
  20. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,138
    They aren't forcing you to use one drive. You can store your files anywhere you want. If you dont watch what you are doing you might accidentally save them under one drive though. I've done it by accident.
     
    OmniDyne likes this.

Share This Page