How to upgrade my computer's RAM?

ComposerRyan

Yeah, I know...it's probably a dumb question but I am no expert when it comes to upgrading my computer's hardware.

I took the cover off to look inside and this is a pic of my computer's intestinal organs:

518ow4.jpg

Any ideas of what kind of RAM is best for my PC and at the most affordable price? I'm looking to add to 8 GB sticks to it to make a total of 24 GBs of RAM. Thanks for your help!

Last edited by a moderator:

Darren

Staff member
To swap it out you just have to push on the little plastic tabs on the end of each stick of RAM and they'll pop out. Then just line up the RAM with the slot and make sure it's facing the right way. There's on offset notch that will only let the RAM go in one way. Once it's for sure lined up, press it down until it clicks on both ends. That's it.

But why on earth would you need that much RAM? What are the rest of your specs and what do you use your computer for?

spirit

Staff member
The amount of RAM you can use depends on what motherboard you have. Can you provide any PC specs for us?

ComposerRyan

Thanks for the help.

Here are my specs:

HP Desktop H8-1260t
RAM: 8 GBS
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600 CPU @ 3.4 GHZ (8 CPUs) ~3.4GHZ
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit

Hope that info help and I need that much ram since I am going to be installing some demanding music software that requires tons of ram. :)

ComposerRyan

I found some more detailed specs actually.

Here is my motherboard:
PEGATRON CORPORATION
Model: 2AB5

Also, the current RAM is plugged into two strips that are blue and there are two other black strips next to it...what are the differences between the black and blue strips? And can I have a total of 4 ram strips plugged in? I want to leave the current 2 in there and then add 2x 8 GB ram sticks.

Thanks again!

voyagerfan99

Master of Turning Things Off and Back On Again
Staff member
I resized your photo for you.