HP Mini 1000 HD Replacement

JasonF

Hello,

A family friend recently gave me a broken HP Mini 1000 netbook because it is broken and they don't want to pay to get it repaired. It has been lightly used, but the HDD is broken. When it boots up, an error message of "Pri Master Hard Disk: S.M.A.R.T. Status BAD, Backup and Replace" appears.

I know I need to replace the HDD and was wondering what people thought I should put in it. I'm not a huge computer guy, but I can understand most things. I'm also a college student so money is tight. The cheaper the overall fix is, the better.

I've done the research and it takes a 1.8" ZIF HDD (the same HD's used in iPods and such). I believe the HDD also needs to be 5mm tall to fit in the laptop. Currently, the HDD in the netbook is a 4200rpm I believe. I've found online that SSD's might be better because they are quicker. I also will need to get an OS for it. As a college student, I recently got an email from Microsoft offering Windows 7 Pro at $30.00. I wasn't sure if the computer could handle Windows 7 Pro and how much space I would need to install it. I don't know how much other OS's cost in relation or what the benefit of each would be.

Here are some options that I've found online. I was wondering what everyone thought of them and which they would recommend for my situation (cost, speed, space, etc.).

Hitachi 40GB IDE 1.8" ZIF 4200 rpm

Super Talent 8GB 1.8" ZIF SSD

Super Talent 16GB IDE 1.8" ZIF SSD

Thanks for any help that you guys can provide! :)

Twinbird24

While the SSD is a lot faster, I hardly doubt that the 16GB would be enough, it would barley fit the OS (Windows 7). Out of those 3 that you chose I would pick the 40GB IDE, even though it is an IDE drive and has 4200RPM, the larger HDD space is better than the 8 or 16GB SSD.

From what I know, the netbook originally came with Windows XP Home Edition SP2, from the specs it looks like it could support Windows 7.