i want to build a computer, please help

hi, first of all i want to say that my english is not very good, so excuse my english :), and plus that i'm a newbie

the problem is that i want to build my own computer but i don't have any ideas on how to, so i've some questions would like to ask
1, power supply: does it really matter on how much watts its supply for all the components, how can i figure out how much power it will supply throughout the motherboard and other devices
2,i was wondering that if i buy all computer parts separately and put it together, will all the devices compatible or i've to find it to be compatible, how
3,i'm not sure what's the best brands, products on the market right now, can you give me some hints. (like best motherboard, videocards, dvd-rw, .....)
4, where can i get the best deal on computer parts on the internet

and one more question: i've a 120 gb hard-drive that was taking from a new comp(the new computer got smash badly by a dumbell), how can i open all the files in that hard-drive without formatting it. I've some really importants stuff in there. NO, it's not xxx

samuelhii_mei

1.power supply really matter !! you can find the voltage by the sticker on the power supply!!
2.as well as your comp works smooth, it is compatible!(it is better for you to list out all the device here before doing anything)
3.no stuff is best brand!! how much is your budget, this limited the hardware you purchased!
4.www.newegg.com, you can try this!!! cheap!! belivable!!

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
power supply: does it really matter on how much watts its supply for all the components, how can I figure out how much power it will supply throughout the motherboard and other devices
If you geta 400W+ PSU from a reputable maker you should be ok :)

i was wondering that if I buy all computer parts separately and put it together, will all the devices compatible or i've to find it to be compatible, how
What parts did you have in mind? :)