I want to use my TV as a gaming monitor

Happy_Demon

Hi, I am really new to computers in general and a freind is building one with me over X-Mas break. Good budget, but don't want to spend much on a nice monitor. Instead, I know I can use a TV as a monitor, but I hear that it is not very good for word processing so many questions:
1) If I have a good new TV (1 year old) will it be ok?
2) Is it much better to buy a really good monitor?
3) What am I looking for if I want to use my TV as a monitor? In terms of video chip etc.

As an alternative to a good alternative, I plan on just buying a dinky little one just for my word processing.

Any other concerns would be appreciated, thanks.

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
I dont reccomend playing on a TV but its your gaming experience. Most video cards nowadays support TVout so you dont have much to buy any fancy hardware really, just plug your TV in and urn with it. :)

Also, what am I looking for in a Video Chip in general?
I have no idea, it depends on the intent and the pricerange :)

What makes one good at running games?
Having a big (high quality) display might help but i guess practise really.

Happy_Demon

I suppose my major intent is for media, games, and writing. Price range would probably depend on how much a video chip matters. If greatly I suppose $200.

Also, does it look fine on a TV? Both the games and word processing?

Last edited:

Greg J.

VIP Member