Install Windows from Linux?

Taylor DeGree

Hello all. This is my first time posting and I'll pre warn you that I'm not computer savvy. I have an older Dell Inspiron Laptop that used to have Windows but someone installed Linux on it. I'd like to switch back to Windows. How would I go about doing this. Can I buy Windows 10 online and just install it on the computer with general step by step and be done or is there more to it? Thank you for any help on this.
:eek: Taylor

Agent Smith

Welp, I'm not a Windows 10 fan, so there's that. But you probably could install Win 10 on it.

All you do is boot from the OS disk. It will then load a bunch of things, reboot and ask if you want to boot from CD again, don't. Just let it boot this time.

To boot from CD in a Dell, while the computer boots you can either keep hitting the F12 key and then select boot from CD. Or you can go into BIOS its self by hitting the F2 key constantly on boot, go into the boot options section and set the CD drive as the first boot device.

The concept here is that you are in fact "booting" from the CD and not your hard drive.

_Pete_

You say this is an "older Dell Inspiron laptop that someone installed Linux on." the reason that Linux was installed, possibly, was because the laptop had got so slow with whatever version of Windows it had on it the time. I would suggest that it, probably, wouldn't cope too well with Windows 10. Windows 10 is available to buy but it is expensive and to put it on to a laptop that, probably, couldn't run it could be an expensive mistake.

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member
What are the specs of this laptop? What processor does it have and how much ram does it have?

UnholyVision