Intel Core i7-6950X

So this Processor has 10 cores...

Intel Core i7-6950X 3.0GHz 10-Core OEM/Tray Processor

#1 what is a Tray Processor?
#2 being that it is OEM is that why it is $1800+?
#3 Money is no object, I mean multi millionaire and buying this will make NO difference on not being able to buy other parts for the PC, would it be useful at ALL for gaming or can nothing use that many cores yet?

I am relatively new to understanding the cores stuff.

Intel_man

VIP Member
To answer your questions...
  1. It comes in a tray of processors rather than boxed individually for retail sales. Trays are usually for large OEM manufacturers who put them in their own branded computers.
  2. It's a flagship Intel Extreme chip. That's why it costs that much. Also, it's got 10 cores... plus hyperthreading.
  3. No. No games will benefit from the 6950x with possibly the exception of Cities Skylines that have seen a few fps increases, but definitely not enough to warrant the extra $1400 over a 6700k.
Any processor with ridiculously high numbers of cores are generally targeted towards server, rendering, or compression uses. There's probably a few other uses that benefit from high core count, but gaming is not one of them.

beers

Staff member
#1 what is a Tray Processor?
#2 being that it is OEM is that why it is $1800+?
#3 Money is no object, I mean multi millionaire and buying this will make NO difference on not being able to buy other parts for the PC, would it be useful at ALL for gaming or can nothing use that many cores yet?
1) There's generally tray/OEM and Retail. This one wouldn't come with any box or packaging and you'd just get the CPU. Here's a tray:

phan-biet-hai-loai-cpu-box-va-cpu-tray1.jpg

2) It's the only 10c/20t consumer CPU on the market and is priced with a corresponding profit margin.

3) You'd probably be better off with a multi socket Xeon system at that level.

Laquer Head