Is it a good idea? Build my own digital picture frame.

ssal

I am a photographer and want to have my pictures to display on a relatively large digital picture frame. I had one from a few years back and it was dim and small and it costed quite a bit then. With the price coming down through the years, I thought that a 24 inch LCD frame should be around $350 to $400. I was surprised to find out that they are charging over $900 for that size.

I checked out the price on 24" LCD screens (around $160 to $200). I was debating if I should do the "brain" piecemeal. That is, buying the motherboard, power supply, HDD (or SSD, or ECCM). By the time it is said and done, it would cost too much and too complicated. I recently bought a Asus x250TA for $200. It has everything I needed and more for a "brain" for the frame. All I need is to get a good wooden picture frame (probably at a yard sale) and mount the monitor, and gerry rack some device to attach the computer in the back (probaly some velco). The Asus has very good resolution and a relatively powerful CPU. It has 2gb ram and 32 gb ECCM, That's more than enough to hold 5,000 pictures.

The whole setup would be around $400, less than half of buying one, and a lot more flexible (I can also play videos too.)

I am wondering what else I need to be concerned about that I may have missed?

strollin

It sounds doable, the Asus x250TA is probably way overkill for what you want to do, a $35 Raspberry Pi would also have worked.

If you are going to enclose everything then you will need to worry about having sufficient airflow for cooling but if you just plan to hang the computer on the back then you probably don't need to worry about it.

ssal

That's what I want to hear. I know the Asus would work but it is a bit of an overkill. The Raspberry Pi you recommended seems a more logical component, if it has what I am looking for.