Is it possible to build a gaming laptop?

AustinOA

For several months now, I have been thinking about, and doing some research for building a gaming computer. But it is not really possible for me any more to have both a laptop for work, and a desktop for gaming. So, the obvious solution then is to build a gaming laptop and my question is, can it be done?

1) I have never built a computer before (but I have reformatted and reloaded Windows many times), so how easy would it be for a beginner?

2) The space that is available to work with is obviously much more limited, so I am guessing that will be a big consideration when ordering parts?

3) http://www.build-gaming-computers.com/custom-gaming-computers.html provides what looks like a great guide for a gaming desktop with optimal builds for various budgets, and I am wondering how much of this can carry over to building a gaming laptop?

4) I guess, where should I start? Is the space such a concern that I would need to investigate cases first? What should I start looking at first?

I realize this may be a tall order, so I certainly appreciate any help I can get.
Thanks.

Last edited:

DMGrier

VIP Member
It is kind of impossible due to the fact that each laptop model has a custom mobo so it becomes to expensive so no one really does it.

wolfeking

banned
For several months now, I have been thinking about, and doing some research for building a gaming computer. But it is not really possible for me any more to have both a laptop for work, and a desktop for gaming. So, the obvious solution then is to build a gaming laptop and my question is, can it be done?

1) I have never built a computer before (but I have reformatted and reloaded Windows many times), so how easy would it be for a beginner?

2) The space that is available to work with is obviously much more limited, so I am guessing that will be a big consideration when ordering parts?