Is this possible?

Shlouski

VIP Member
My goal is to setup a lan that friends can dial into, so we can file share and do some lan gaming. I have some knowledge about networking, so I've be able to get connections logging on to my Windows server 2008 r2 machine, but is it possible to get the server to forward subnet data between computers in my lan and computers over the internet? Or is it possible to log all users onto the server and have it act like a router relaying all the data between those computers?

Darren

Staff member
If you're just talking about sharing files then yeah it should be. I could probably clumsily figure it out if I had it in front of me but this is a question @beers can probably handle better than anyone.

Shlouski

VIP Member
It's Windows server, even though I understand a lot of the terminology and have a reasonable understanding about networking, I can't get my head around how this Windows works. I can setup a file server no problem, but when I come to the remote access, the ip routes and how I'm supposed to have this machine configured in the network, I'm lost. Am I supposed to have this server between my lan and wan or can all the machines just connect to the wan as normal? I've found dhcp referenced I like 3 places, which one is for my lan and which are for the remote access pc's or do they do both, I'm confused, also it tells me I can't set the dhcp on because I haven't given them a static ip???????? Lol confused

beers

Staff member
What kind of routers and similar do you have? You'd generally put this on a vpn which could either roll ipsec on your edge or host an openvpn server that they connect to and you route toward.