Is this worth it?

MrSnek

Intel core i7 6700 3.4 GHZ processor
Gigabyte h170- d3h ultra durable motherboard
Gtx 1060 6gb dual graphics card
Seagrate 1 tb hdd
Raidmax 500.w power supply
Corsair spec-01 windows case

I am new at building a pc I have no idea what I am doing (still learning) is this build considered a good price 1084$

_Glitch

Already have the RAM?

You are buying an outdated CPU. I would go for the i7-7700 instead.
It cost 20 bucks more, but it's worth it. You could also wait for the I7-7600. It will be price similar to the 6700 but still outperform it.
If you choose a gen7 series CPU, you will also need another motherboard.

Last edited:

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member

_Glitch

Yes it is outdated. It's last gen. Doesn't matter what socket it uses.
It's outdated like the gtx 980 is outdated. It's still good and it still uses PCI-E 3.0, sure. But you should go for a 1070 or a 1080 instead.

Didn't know gen 7 was supporter on H170. Sorry for that mistake.

Geoff

VIP Member
Yes it is outdated. It's last gen. Doesn't matter what socket it uses.
It's outdated like the gtx 980 is outdated. It's still good and it still uses PCI-E 3.0, sure. But you should go for a 1070 or a 1080 instead.

Didn't know gen 7 was supporter on H170. Sorry for that mistake.

Debatable. I wouldn't call same socket outdated. Now going from socket 1150 to 1151 is outdated. But to each his own.
I think a better term would be last gen. It's technically not the newest, but "outdated" makes it sound like it's a poor choice or won't perform well.

beers

Staff member
It's outdated like the gtx 980 is outdated
That's kind of a slant reference though. There was a noticeable gain in going 980->1080 or similar. The jump to Kaby Lake is a couple of percent at best and largely due to increased clocks.

Hexus Review said: