Making A Computer?

Hi,

I frequently go to LAN parties and recently a new kid joined are group. Everyone just thought of him as a normal gamer just like all of us but I noticed that his CPU didn't look like one that you can buy off of the shelves. I asked him about it and he said he made it himself. We started talking about it and he said he saves tons of money building it and he can build his computer around what he wants to do, to game.

I thought to myself, wow, I wish I could do that and after some thinking, why couldn't I? So, I decided to ask here to see if someone can point me in the right direction. Maybe give me some links that are helpful or give me a few pointers. Oh yeah, just to let all of you know, I'm a complete noob when it comes to computers, I don't know what the mother board is/does! Yes, I'm that stupid. So, if possible, I need everything from square 1!

Thank you for all of your help!

P.S. One more thing, does anyone know where to download Microsoft Word? I reformatted my computer and it didn't come with Word. Thanks!

Last edited:

EMO-TOCROSS

Okay, building the computer is the easy part. The part you need to focus on right now is this - Whats your budget? What do you want your computer to be capable of? What would you like to use it for?

Than we can help you by giving you a background on some of the parts we'd recomend. By the way, Here's a helpfull list that I wanted to know when I was new at making computers too:

What parts make up the computer (general parts)
1: Motherboard
2. CPU (Processor)
3. CPU FAN
4. Video Card
5. Audio card (optional, sometimes built onto the motherboard)
6. Hard drive
7. CD Drive
8. Computer Case
9. PSU (Power Supply, sometimes included with the computer case)
10. Case fans (optional but reccomended)

Hope that helps you feel more educated :)

Ask questions, there should always be someone in this forum to answer you quickly :)