Memory problems

paaji

i am new here ok my question is that i have asus p4p8x and i want to upgrade the memory on that one. So i bought 256 3200 400mhz azen memory previously i had 256 3200 400mhz samsung memory. So when i installed the both memories together computer doesn't boot. i put each one at a time computer boots but if i put together it doesn't boot. so took both memories and put into a another computer together with amd cpu it works but not on my computer. Which means memory isn't bad cause it works if i put one at a time. I don't know about the dual and single memory cause if boots together on the other computer with different motherboard then it should work. Maybe this might be the cause but i have no knowledge about it. Another thing i did is put into 1 and 3 and 2 and 4 slots to check out but no luck so i returned the memory and bought another brand which is GB micro and same thing happens. I updated the bios but not sure whether it is right one. I don't what is wrong so please help

paaji

memory thread

thanks for your reply how would i know that both are single sided or double but as far as i know if it is a double then it has black chips on one side not on both. If memory has chips on both side then it is single let me know if i am correct. Ok both of the memories have chips on one side which will make them double i guess. i need to know further need to check let me know when i turn on with one memory only it says single channel something what that means if you let me know thanks

Last edited:

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
thanks for your reply how would i know that both are single sided or double
Double sided = chips on both sides of the DIMM

i need to know further need to check let me know when i turn on with one memory only it says single channel something what that means if you let me know thanks
Single Channel just means you're using a single memory controller (some setups support twin channels working in parallel)

paaji