Need Help

Ghansen

I'm a teacher just got given an old Laptop used by another teacher who has subsequently left the school, can't seem to log on as their name is still on the computer and don't know their pass word/ other user doesn't seem to work either, any advise? OS is windows 7, thanks all

DMGrier

VIP Member
There is not much you can do except re-install Windows 7 or a alternate OS. If on the bottom of your laptop if there is a Windows Product key then you can re-install Windows 7 without paying. It will also say which version of Windows 7 it is, like example mine says Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit.

http://www.mydigitallife.info/official-windows-7-sp1-iso-from-digital-river/

In order for your product key to work you must download the exact version of Windows it says you have on the stickers.

Also you could run Ubuntu, a easy to install OS that has plenty of applications for video, music and office work and it is legally free. Wouldn't hurt to give it a try since you will have to reformat anyway.

http://www.ubuntu.com/download/ubuntu/download

Plus on here if you read it there are buttons to click on that will help show you how to burn it to disc and then install it.

To be honest Windows 7 is a pain to install and update. When I installed Windows 7 on a laptop, with installing drivers and Windows update takes me anywhere from 2-3 hours depending on driver support.

Ubuntu on every machine I have installed it on (about 20 now) takes about 30 minutes to a hour with updates and drivers.

Last edited:

Ultrabooked

As mentioned here, the best thing you can do is reinstall. You will be able to configure the OS the way you want it and besides the fresh installation will work faster.

wolfeking

banned
There are ways to remove the password (or identify the password) on any windows based computer, but we cant help you with that as it is against the rules.