New ATI FireGL Z1 card for CAD...

calpolyarc

You know, I'm really tired of these help menus or user guides that are absolutely worthless! All they do is tell you where to change each setting, but they never tell you what the setting does!? I am an architect, not a computer engineer, I don't know anything about refresh rates and synchronization?!? :confused: Nor do I have time to research them! Can anyone tell me (if it's not too much trouble) what settings I should configure on my FireGL Z1 card to run optimally for AutoCAD on dual CRT monitors, or should the settings be configured in AutoCAD itself?!? Or both!?! ATI doesn't offer any help on their website, I emailed customer service but I have a feeling I'll get the generic 'read the users guide' response! :rolleyes: Thank you for your time!!

ps. Is it better to have a higher or lower refresh rate? Right now I have it at 75 Hertz for both monitors?

Lorand

<b>VIP Member</b>
The higher the refresh rate is, the better it is for your eyes. A minimal ergonomic value is 85 Hz.

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
75 Hz is the minimum according to TCO '95 standards, but TCO '99 requires 85 Hz...
Bah screw the standards -- sit infront of a 60Hz screen for 100hours straight coding and you either adapt or you fail :p ... works a lot better when you have an assignment worth 65% of the term mark involved :p

Lorand

<b>VIP Member</b>
sit infront of a 60Hz screen for 100hours straight coding and you either adapt or you fail :p ...
Actually I did that and still no problem with my eyes... :)
But if you have a decent monitor, why not use it at its max refresh?

Lorand

<b>VIP Member</b>
Damn marketing... :p They say what's the max resolution and what's the max refresh rate, but they don't mention that the max refresh rate is aplicable just for the min resolution...

The 85 Hz is fine. :)

calpolyarc

Cool, well not cool because they are damn liars.... lol