New Build? Are these parts good

Gamepsyched

Hey all, Recently was having problems with my GTX 460 and ended up fixing it somewhat. But i just Started my plumbing apprenticeship and have some good money coming in, So why not upgrade!!

I will be using existing parts of my current build and these are the new parts i will be purchasing:

Case:http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811139009

Card GTX 680:http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130780

MOBO:http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157330

From old PC setup will be using 4x2GB ram (8GB) and my I7 860 2.8GHZ CPU

Now a couple questions. Is this MOBO good and will it support all my parts. I have no experience with MOBOS and dont really know anything about them. All i know is I want the 2xPCI express 3.0 for possible SLI setup in the future.

And will My I7-860 support this new GPU. If not what would be a good upgrade.

Thanks in advance

Gamepsyched

Im only upgrading MOBO because i have an ACER computer from bestbuy ive been upgrading... Would it be alright just to use my MOBO i have ?

And, If i wanted to upgrade my CPU too a newer I7 would this board you posted be compatible

wolfeking

banned
What are you planning on using the computer for? If you just want to game (the GTX680 suggest you do) then a i5 is plenty for games.

You need to make a choice of keeping your CPU or upgrading your CPU. You won't be able to do both. Your current i7 has 0 upgradability in the CPU department.

Gamepsyched

0 upgradability? care to explain?

Using the computer for Gaming and Studio recording.

Im just worried about the motherboard in my acer not being able to withhold all the raw power of the GTX 680. I dont know alot about mobos though is it ok to keep using in new build to avoid costs and when i do want to upgrade i can get new MOBO+CPU

wolfeking

banned