New computer installation

b182tm

Hey everyone,
I was just wondering in what order you install everything into your computer? Does it matter? Do you do it all at once, or start the comp., then install some more? Does it generally go mobo, memory, processor, hard drive, dvd/cd drive? Also, do you ground yourself, or have anti-static gloves or anything? Finally, are there any hidden costs/extra things you need in order for the comp. to run? Sorry for all the questions...It's my first time.
Thanks a lot,
Derek

j0hn00

I usually install the motherboard into the case > CPU > heatsink/fan > memory > video card > hard drive > cd-rom > power supply. I boot up, make sure everything works, install the OS, then any additional hardware. Personally, I've never used anti-static gloves, but I do make sure to touch the power supply casing before I handle any hardware. Depending on what aftermarket accessories you want, that will determine your extra cost. I spent around US$130 on HSFs and fans.

jancz3rt

<b>VIP Member</b>
Well..

I usually install everything at once without testing. Really I do not see a point as everything should work flawlessly if the components were chosen correctly. There is no point in my opinion of installing components following each other. In fact the only time you should really need to try components seperatly is when you need to find what is causing you problems. There are several components that do not like static. It is advisable, for the sake of it, to use some gloves or those bands. It's really up to you. I never use them. I touch the case instead with the PSU on prior to connecting it to the motherboard and components.

JAN :D

mapollo

b182tm

A bit of advice from someone who has just built their first PC.

The trickiest bit was sorting out where to put the little cables that come from the front of the case (ie on/off button, reset switch, HD led's etc) to the motherboard.