New Digital Camera?

spirit

Staff member
Hi all.

Been getting into photography recently and I would like to replace my ageing CyberShot DSC-W110 which I have been using for a couple of years now (about 2 and a half I think). It's been OK but I find that the 4x optical zoom isn't enough and the extra digital zoom makes my pictures grainy, and besides, I've been having problems with the camera for some time now so time I got a new one I think.

I went on holiday to the Isle of Wight a couple weeks back and I tried out a Panasonic Lumix bridge camera (not the newest, think it's about 2 or so years old) but I liked the bridge format and I especially liked the 12x optical zoom it provided. Small these days I know, but a large jump from 4x don't you think?

I have been looking around on the internet ever since I got back from that holiday at bridge cameras (I would prefer a bridge camera over a point and shoot really, mainly for the extra zoom), and I have been looking at FujiFilm cameras, mainly because of the cheap prices.

I've thought long and hard about this and even looked at other brands such as Nikon and Sony too but I have always come back to the FujiFilms, in particular, the FinePix S3200. The S3200 offers a 24x optical zoom, 14MP and a Fujinon lens, and it also records video in 720p as well. I know that some people get drawn into a camera by how many megapixels it has, but I'm more interested in the lens than the megapixels.

I'm no professional photographer I will admit, but I just enjoy photography and I would like to know what people think of the S3200 or FujiFilm cameras in general? I have used of these FujiFilms once or twice before and I quite liked both of them. I also like their panoramic shot feature.