new here, need advice on CPU

SuperDuperMe

hello, i am a total noob to computers and have not the slightest clue.

at the moment i have a tower with an amd athlon 2000+ xp running at 1.67ghz

im looking at upgrading the cpu before anything else as its probably the weakest part of my system however i do not know what my mobo is. i bought the tower used and the guy that sold it me doesnt know either.

the general specs of my tower (that i actually know) are

amd athlon 2000+ xp 1.6ghz
geforce 5200fx
1 gb ram

other than these im clueless, how do i start to upgrade?

( im wanting to upgrade so that i cna play games like cod 4, nothing higher really, i have my 360 for the most modern games but i would like to play older games like cod 4 at a good level)

so can anyone help me to determine what i need and have to do

thanks in advance

if its any help my tower runs max payne 2 on medium settings fine, and dawn of war dark crusade ok on medium setting

Last edited:

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member
That system is way too old to spend money on. You have a slot 462 processor. Your best bet is to save your money and build a new system with todays technology.

SuperDuperMe

there is no way i can afford that, like i said im not looking for uber good, just something generic, i would like to make this as good as possible and as cheap as possible

the motherboard is this one here

http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=qfpaGrAy2kLVo0f2

what parts could i get to make this the best it can be

(i know its not going to be great but id rather not spend a huge amount on a computer considering im really new to all this. so id like to ease myself in with this so that if it does go wrong im not too out of pocket)

any help is appreciated and what ever information you require i can get it

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member