New laptop, want ubuntu partition

xarik

just picked up an acer-5742Z for $100 (steal :p)....I have an SSD that is just laying around and I want to load W7 and Ubuntu 1 on it just for kicks....recommended partition sizes and options for donig such a thing? I have a W7 home premium disk but if I put it in it won't let me boot and reinstall for some reason :/

DMGrier

VIP Member
Are you wanting to install Ubuntu 1 cloud service? If your going to install Ubuntu I would recommend partition size of at least 15 GB so you don't worry about limited room for apps, more is better.

Before you install Ubuntu go check out the new release of Elementary OS Luna based on Ubuntu 12.04 and has full function Ubuntu software center.My opinion it looks far better, and for fact way faster.

xarik

Thanks! I'll take a look at that. I'm brand new to the Ubuntu/Linux world so I will have to take a look. It's confusing to navigate right now but it should get better with time :p I want to be able to switch between linux and w7 without shutting down but I doubt that's possible lol...I am considering selling it with the w7 and ubuntu combo in a solid state (60GB) but I have a 320GB backup hard drive too to sell it with so I'll experiment for a bit :p

DMGrier

VIP Member
Yeah no real way to switch back and forth, interesting concept though. You could install Ubuntu or Elementary and set Windows up in Oracle Virtual box. That is how I how I have it on my Vaio right now just in case I need Window which is not very often.

xarik

:( Sold the laptop before I could get this far...put in an SSD with a clone of a W7 HDD and he's buying it with the 320gb and I'll probably wipe the 320gb

xarik

umm I had it for the past 2 weeks ;P lol...I'm not a pro at it but I can navigate it fairly well but I don't fully understand it, no sorry. why what's up?

spynoodle