New Member New Build

brokenwing

Last but not least, since im not as computer savy as some folks here if i run into problems, im sure there is plenty of support. I know if you purchase a computer say dell, and there is a problem i can call them up, im a bit nervous, since there is no support and this is my first build. Also the deals on the os for 80.00 that looks like that lasts for a couple of days correct. Also Im going to use the new egg prefered account card 12 monts interest free, any of you guys used that card and had any luck.

Perkomate

you could go for a socket FM1 processor, even though they are the newer generation. They combine a normal CPU with a GPU and even though it fits into the same size, it is the equivalent of i think a Radeon 6470 or something like that.

jonnyp11

yeah, it's a 90 buck cpu and a 70 buck gpu for 140, so 20 off, but it is an athlon quad basically at 2.9ghz for their best, never looked at the other so idk, it will cost more than this for less performance and next to no upgrading where this has a good range of upgrades

brokenwing

I dont understand the Fm1 board, sure it has a cpu but the next release bulldozer is going to be am3+ so i dont really understand why they came out with the fm1

jonnyp11

fm1 is made for the low budget market, it provides decent performance as a cpu, and great performance for a gpu when you consider the price range it is in as a dedicated card in a laptop of equal performance would cost a considerable amount more, it is just a comletely different line.

Benny Boy

High quality unit. Power enough for upgrades.
XFX Core Edition PRO550W (P1-550S-XXB9) 550W ATX12V 2.2 & ESP12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified ...

GIGABYTE GA-970A-D3 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

I'd go with this one. oc's very well and the stock cooler will do for some of that.
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ955FBGMBOX