new pc sometimes stalling on start-up ?

newby1

Hello,
just bought a new pc. But sometimes it stalls on the first page when starting up, just before it normally says "initialising drives". So far if I just turn it off and restart it, it runs o.k. But I'm worried it could become a problem.

Any thoughts or suggestions please.

I've done a system check to see if everything is functioning properly and no problems showed up.

Blue

<b>VIP Member</b>
Does it do this each and everytime you boot your pc? have you built this pc yourself? could we please have some system specs to go by. Also is there any message on the screen at the point it stops?

Try going into your bios and setting "Halt on Errors" or somthing similier to dissabled and see if the problem persists.

newby1

No i didn't build it myself but I did get it from a small company off ebay. I'm new to computers. I've only just installed the drivers for the motherboard and soundcard. Could it have been that ?

Should the drivers be installed before XP ?

It's a pentium 3.4Ghz (64 bit prescott processesor) with XP professional on it. 200Gb maxtor hard drive. Gigabyte motherboard (can't remember which one - I'm on another pc at the moment) But the memory is elixia 1Gb (I think it's a cheap one !) Radeon 256mb graphics card.

It's got some very complex looking diagnostic stuff. As I've said I've looked carefully through them but can't see anything amiss.

No messages on screen when it stalls.

No it doesn't stall every time. One time it did it when I'd left a disc in the drive
by mistake. But that may not have had anything to do with it.

When it doesn't stall there is still a few seconds between it saying the memory is o.k. and it initialising drives, so I don't know if it's having difficulty finding a path or something.

Last edited:

Blue

<b>VIP Member</b>
Should the drivers be installed before XP?

No you did it right as you would not be able to instal these drivers before the OS.