noob looking for help buying laptop

majax

I will be needing a laptop to play dvds at regular speed...no buffering or freezing. Could someone tell me what is the fastest internet service? I can surf the internet anywhere, right? I told you I was a noob. If someone could recommend a really good monitor brand that would be great. A really good picture is important to me. I will also be using it for college papers, assignments, logging into online classrooms. I want to have video clips on it but the internet is very important to me. I was looking at alienware laptops but I really don't know what I'm looking for. Could someone either start me out or make a recommendation. I'm looking for a sleek design mixed with funcionability. I'm not interested in purchasing anyone's old laptop nor am I building my own. Thanks for any help.

Lax

VIP Member
Emachines, Asus, Acer, and to a lesser extent HP (which make ok machines too). For what you want (No games) almost any laptop would be ok for what you're asking. As for internet services that all depends on what you get. For your house there's cable and DSL. Cable has nice up and down speeds but it's usually a static IP. DSL has good down speeds but not up speeds (depending on what service you have). FIOS (new verizon stuff) is supposed to have 15Mbps down with 5Mbps up. If you're wondering what other people have (or whatever you're using when you use your laptop) that depends on where you use it. College's and the like usually OC-12 or OC-48 (super fast stuff but slow because of the amount of computers in use).

majax

Follow up

Hey,