Please help me set up home network

M_Simmons

We have a wireless system set up in my house, for a small business. We are running two Toshiba wireless laptops and one Dell desktop, through a Belkin router. Also connected is a HP printer.

I would like to set up the desktop machine to act as network storage (server?) so we can access the information on it from the other machines.

How do I go about doing this? I'm sure there must be a simple solution :confused: , but am a complete beginner when it comes to networking! Your help much appreciated.

P.S. I have spent hours searching the web for instructions, nothing seems to answer my question. Any tips or pointers appreciated. Cheers, Matt

Last edited:

72montecarlo

Well if you have Xp for starters you can go into 'My network places' and tell it to set up a home or small office network. You can get a workgroup established that way and have all the other computers you want to be able to connect to it use the same workgroup and you can share files that way.

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
I would like to set up the desktop machine to act as network storage (server?) so we can access the information on it from the other machines
You can do this the fancy (i.e., Windows Server) way which is probably a bit of overkill, the insecure yet simple way (by making use of Windows Filesharing) or a happy medium using something like an FTP server (for which free and paid versions exist). I'd reccomend either the filesharing or FTP route

72montecarlo has given you the basics for getting the filesharing route setup, if that's what you want we can elaborate on that if required. The only reason I suggest the more secure FTP route is because of the wireless laptops.... by having logs and well established (and more easily enforced/established) rules you can help to limit wardriving and such :)

M_Simmons

72montecarlo said: