Possible to Upgrade?

South1011

Currently I have a 5 year old Compaq running a slow 700mhz processor. Over the years I have pretty much replaced everything but the motherboard, and processor. What I was wondering was, is it possible to drop in a new motherboard, processor and ram into this case? I like the looks of the case and the current setup I have, so I really would like to keep it if possible. ( plus I am a college student and every pennie I can save helps :) So is it possible to just drop in a new board or do they setup their cases to keep you from doing that? :confused:

jancz3rt

<b>VIP Member</b>
Well

Speaking from personal experience of owning a Compaq Presario Tower...is that the power switches for example do not come in the standard style. Thereofre the wires coming out do not correspond with the newest motherborads at all. I tried wiring it for the same reason as you and could not get it to boot. Damn! Well i guess I was doing it wrong. However, the rest of the stuff is doable mate.

JAN :D

Bobo

banned
South1011 said:
Currently I have a 5 year old Compaq running a slow 700mhz processor. Over the years I have pretty much replaced everything but the motherboard, and processor. What I was wondering was, is it possible to drop in a new motherboard, processor and ram into this case? I like the looks of the case and the current setup I have, so I really would like to keep it if possible. ( plus I am a college student and every pennie I can save helps :) So is it possible to just drop in a new board or do they setup their cases to keep you from doing that? :confused:

The case might be AT, and if so, you won't find a new mobo with AT form factor.

But if it is ATX, then yes

You might as well just buy a new mobo and see if it fits, if it doesn't, there won't be one that does. Then, if it doesn't fit, but a new case/psu

Echo_

Bobo said:
Yeah, OK

South1011:

Do whichever you want to do, listen to me, or listen to echo echo echo