Question about Windows Vista System Restore

2048Megabytes

Active Member
I have a question about Windows Vista System Restore. When you create a restore point using Windows Vista does it backup your entire vital Windows Registry files that the operating system needs in order to work properly? I would like to do this and know how to do it in Windows XP but they have changed everything all around with Vista.
 
For manually creating a restore point you still go through "Start>Programs>Accessories>System Tools" and simply scroll down the list of options for the System Restore. Once you open that up you have the option to create a new one or use one to restore the system to an earlier date.

In XP you still have to go through most of the exact same while the appearance is the only thing different. Vista has the "new look" as the expression goes while this is one feature that remains consistant while the themes and styling see a change.

When bringing a system back before a new program is added you will note that the folder(s) will still need a manual removal while all registry entries and desktop shortcuts have vanished. The two links below are information and instructions for each version to review.

For using the System Restore in XP, http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/helpandsupport/getstarted/ballew_03may19.mspx

For Vista, http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/Help/517d3b8e-3379-46c1-b479-05b30d6fb3f01033.mspx
 
The link you gave me about Vista states the following:

System Restore helps you restore your computer's system files to an earlier point in time. It's a way to undo system changes to your computer without affecting your personal files, such as e‑mail, documents, or photos.

Sometimes, the installation of a program or a driver can cause an unexpected change to your computer or cause Windows to behave unpredictably. Usually, uninstalling the program or driver corrects the problem. If uninstalling does not fix the problem, you can try restoring your computer's system to an earlier date when everything worked correctly.

System Restore uses a feature called System Protection to regularly create and save restore points on your computer. These restore points contain information about registry settings and other system information that Windows uses. You can also create restore points manually.


My concern is if I were to get some malicious software that were to destroy and infect some of my files in the Windows Registry would a System Restore overwrite these infected files if the System Restore was done when the Windows Registry was free of malicious software?
 
The system restore backs up the main registry not files stored in folders created by 3rd party installers or ones you make for storing files. The same applies to the repair install option seen in XP where your files, folders, and just about all programs remain intact while Windows itself is replenished.

In the registry any malware intends to create new entries not folders. The registry itself is like a giant text file with the exception that entries are turned into program instructions for Windows.

Malwares, spywares, adwares, etc. that create entries are usually detectable and removed without even using a restore point to begin with when you have a working combo of protective tools inplace. Although sometimes a special remover may be needed restore points are generally best saved for times if and when Windows won't even startup maybe from a bad install of drivers or some new software.

Since restore points are limited by the calendar where the next set start being made once the 1st of the month comes about it's generally a good idea to simply manually create a new point just before any new program is installed or even going for MS or 3rd party updates where a bad install could happen.
 
Fahrenheit 451 digital signature

:mad:
Hi,

I got a game program off a friend and loaded it onto my laptop. I run Vista and since I loaded it the computer has been running really weird, sometimes not even booting up. I asked my friend where he got the software. He said there was a warning about sharing the software. If it was shared a thing called "Fahrenheit 451 digital signature", would "burn" the computer OS of the computer it was shared to. He said it was their copyright protection. Any one heard of this and how do I get rid of it??? It looks like it going to wipe my OS if I don't stop it!!! Help.
 
Back
Top