school needs help stopping hackers

i work as a math teacher (90%) and computer guy (10%) at a school and on our computers we are using windows XP which is run from another company on a network. in order to access the computers you must login and your own password. i'm sure you know the login screen. without this you cannot access anything OR so i thought.
kids have been getting into the computers, reseting the BIOS passwords, putting in Power Up passwords and such, one kid even installed a totally different version of windows. this is a problem and i would like to know a technical solution on 1) how to stop the kids from doing this and 2) how are they able to do this?
i'm no hacker / cracker and only work on the computers at the school 2 hours a week so i don't have a lot of time to deal with these problems in depth.
can someone out there please help me?

Byteman

Malware Destroyer
If they are resetting BIOS passwords, theyre prob just rebooting the machine and going into the setup. You would do well to not allow them to shut the machine down! 1. Can you make the physical machine non-accessable to them?. 2. use a local security policy, in user rights assignment there is an option called "shut down the system". Take out the "users" group from that policy, and make sure all the students are under the users group (network wise).

Since you have a company running the network, they can do this easily via a logon script, generated from their end. Ask them to do it, that will propogate to all users who belong to that group. On your end you'll just need to physically lock up the machines (so they can't do a hard shutdown/reboot). :)

Geoff

VIP Member
Our school has a login script, it disables many features and doesnt allow any executables to run.