Secondary IDE Drive on Motherboard

kevinvu99

This is my first time building a computer so i have no other way to fix this problem. My secondary IDE drive doesn't seem to cooperate. I try fixing the BIOS, testiing it in the device manager, changing from ultraDMA ribbon to non-ultraDMA ribbon, fixing the drive from slave to master and vice versa, and switching the harddrive from primary to secondary, basically everything. All i am trying to do is to get the secondary Ide drive to read my dvdrom. I know that my dvdrom is working properly because i trie switching it to the primary ide drive and it worked. AFter doing all the switching and testing the message "working properly" still appear so i don't know what the problem is. Is there any other thing i can try so i can get my it to read my DVD rom thanks in advance and my motherboard is ASUS hope it helps. Please write to me at [email protected] thanks

zkiller

<b>VIP Member</b>
you should have a primary and a secondary IDE port on your mainboard. each of these have both a master and slave. just make your HDD the master on the primary IDE port and the dvd rom can be the master on the secondary IDE port.

kevinvu99

zkiller said:
you should have a primary and a secondary IDE port on your mainboard. each of these have both a master and slave. just make your HDD the master on the primary IDE port and the dvd rom can be the master on the secondary IDE port.

Maybe i wasn't being clear in my question. I have the hdd on the primary ide master, and the cdrw in the primary slave. I want to put the dvdrom in the secondary ide master but when i boot the computer, the computer did not pick up the dvdrom, it picked upt the hdd and the cdrw thats it. Is there a way i can fix so that when i boot the comp it will catch the dvdrom.

kevinvu99