Sound Prob

Tystrasza

I just finished my computer yesterday, and everything is great but the sound.. I have plugged my speakers into all the "holes" in the sound card, but i get nothing but a "ssssssh" and it gets louder as i turn my volume up. When I plug them into the card, it makes a loud sound like when you plug something into an amp. I am not good with soundcards, and i cant figure out what it is. My computer says that my sound card is fine and its recognizing it.

EDIT: the drivers are up2date

The_Other_One

VIP Member
First, rather than just blindly guessing which port is output, read a manual or something to be sure which you should actually use.

Do you have any type of front pannel/ports installed. I had a similar problem when I had the wrong plug connected for my front ports. Try just removing the connection and putting the jumpers back if you are using any type of from connection.

Oh, and i see you have an Audigy in your sig... Well same there, remove the front ports if you have any connected.

PC eye

banned
The bottom three 1/8" mini plug sockets are the ones used for the speakers. The green is for the front, second for rear, and bottom for the center mix on that model card. Have you looked in the device manager under sound and game controllers to see if the drivers went in correctly? You should see "Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)" listed.

PC eye

banned
The Audigy 4 is set up the same way with the mic and line in being the top two jacks. If it has a yellow in the DM you can right click on the listing there to choose the update driver option. With the update you may have downloaded the one intended for the Audigy 4 not Audigy 2 line. Which model Audigy 2 are you running?

There are some 12 different Audigy 2 models. Match the model number using the download selector at http://us.creative.com/support/downloads/ That will insure you have the correct update.

SirKenin

banned
Well yeah, it's listed... lol