Surge Protector Vs UPS

Renzore101

Hello CF,

I have a quick general question regarding surge protectors and UPS's. Today my power went out during a thunderstorm, and my PC lost power during this time twice. :eek: I am not an electrician obviously, so I am just trying to gain some level of understanding of how this affects my PC. When the power goes out, then comes back on, a surge occurs correct? I am sure this surge is nothing like a lightning strike, but it can probably cause damage to electronics all the same. Does a UPS better protect against electrical surges than a regular surge protector?

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member
When power goes out, the abrupt power cutoff can damage hard drives, memory and other hardware. If you had a UPS/battery backup then you can safely shut down your system without the abrupt power cutoff. If your area has lots of power outages, then I highly recommend getting a battery backup. Those cheap surge protectors don't protect against a lot.

beers

Staff member
It depends, a surge protector tries to clamp the voltage to an acceptable range (and trips in excess). Sometimes it will just be lack of power down the line so the voltage would sag to 0 and you'd have no power.

A UPS would give you battery standby so your PC stays on when the power is out. As far as protection from lightning, there are a few different kinds of UPS as you can read about here:
http://www.apcdistributors.com/white-papers/Power/WP-1 The Different Types of UPS Systems.pdf

Renzore101