troubles with orinoco WiFi card.

Mike1605

First of all, specs on the gear.

WaveLAN gold flavor of the orinoco card W/ V8:72
HP laptop
windows xp pro.

So about a month ago i decide to start taking my laptop to my girlfriends house so i can try to get a little work done while im there. I get there, take out the laptop put the card in and boot it up. everything loads up fast and as soon as the status light starts up on the card everything freezes for about 45 seconds. Then i go down to the wireless networks, select hers, put in the WEP and as soon as the status light on the WiFi card lights up it freezes for another 45 seconds. still not connected. i played with settings and did everything i could think of but whenever it came down to it and i would try to connect, it would freeze then nothing would happen. OK, annoying but not getting work done at the girls house inst the end of the world.

about 2 weeks later im at home on my network which i have been using for 3+ years now. take out the laptop, put the card in and boot it up. same thing it was doing at my girls house. it stopped automatically connecting (like it is configured to do) and when you choose the network and put the WEP in, it freezes then dosnt connect.

now keep in mind. the 2 weeks between the first time at my girlfriends house and now at my house it was working flawlessly. so it wasn't like i busted the card and it completely stopped working.

So far i have reinstalled ALL drivers from my windows disk. reinstalled the Orinoco drivers about 4 times. went through all the settings that i could think of but its still just freezing.

I also took out an Old Cisco card and it did the same thing. just froze up whenever the status light on the card would come up.

Anyone have any insight on what i may be able to do or try?

Buy-it PC

Trouble with network...

First of all, specs on the gear.

WaveLAN gold flavor of the orinoco card W/ V8:72
HP laptop
windows xp pro.