Typical LAN Speeds?

Calibretto

VIP Member
Hey everyone. I'm just now starting to use this 2TB NAS box I had laying around and I'm transferring some files to it from my desktop. I've been averaging around 10-11 MB/s transfer speeds, but I'm not sure what the average speed is over a LAN. I have both my desktop and the NAS box plugged into a Linksys WRT54G router.

Can anyone give me some ideas on how fast of transfer speeds I should be getting?

zombine210

well, i'm not an expert on this, but on a typical home network, and considering the wrt54g only has 10/100 ports, your lan bandwidth would be, let me see 100Mb/8 ~ 12.5MB so i think 10~11MB is about right, you know after the packets get those bits at the beginning and ending telling it where it's going and what comes next.

canivari

well, i'm not an expert on this, but on a typical home network, and considering the wrt54g only has 10/100 ports, your lan bandwidth would be, let me see 100mb/8 ~ 12.5mb so i think 10~11mb is about right, you know after the packets get those bits at the beginning and ending telling it where it's going and what comes next.

+1

tlarkin

VIP Member
ahem....

Disk I/O is always going to be your biggest bottle neck. Hard drives can only read and write data so fast and your network is faster than them.

canivari

ahem....

Disk I/O is always going to be your biggest bottle neck. Hard drives can only read and write data so fast and your network is faster than them.

My disks can read and write more than 100mbps..
What about TCP-IP overheads?
In my experience the most you can have from a 100mbps conection running TCP/IP is those 11~12mbps..
The same problem with Universal Serial Buses..

tlarkin

VIP Member
My disks can read and write more than 100mbps..
What about TCP-IP overheads?
In my experience the most you can have from a 100mbps conection running TCP/IP is those 11~12mbps..
The same problem with Universal Serial Buses..