Video card upgrade...worthwhile?

dersteinmeister

Greetings all,

I have a desktop PC used mostly for gaming, and I'd like to get optimum graphics. Here are the current specs: Velocity Micro machine with Intel Core 2 Duo core E6600 processors at 2.4 GHz, dual 320 Gig hard drives, 4 GB RAM and GeForce 7950 GT video card, operating under Windows Vista. Monitor is an LCD with 2 msec refresh rate.

I'm considering a high end video card, such as the NVivia 8800 GTX. Would that video card upgrade be worthwhile, or is my system limited by other components, such as the processor? I'm new at this, so would appreciate any ideas. Thanks.
:)

Styrak

I say go for it. The processor may be limited in the FUTURE future, but not with current games. (Not to mention the graphics cards will also be limiting with FUTURE future games, but that happens with any hardware)

This is if you have the money of course, and don't mind paying an exorbitant amount of money on a video card.

Last edited:

Kornowski

VIP Member
Wow! E6600 and 4GB of RAM.

There's a trend with people now and having insane amounts of RAM!

Anyway, None of the things in your PC will hold you back... an 8800 GTX would be better than the card you have now, but the one you have now is still a great card, why don't you wait a while untill it's needed.

The only thing that may be a problem is the PSU in your computer,
What is it and what are the specs?

Buy-it PC

Greetings all,

I have a desktop PC used mostly for gaming, and I'd like to get optimum graphics. Here are the current specs: Velocity Micro machine with Intel Core 2 Duo core E6600 processors at 2.4 GHz, dual 320 Gig hard drives, 4 GB RAM and GeForce 7950 GT video card, operating under Windows Vista. Monitor is an LCD with 2 msec refresh rate.