Well, guess what happened this morning?

Discussion in 'Computer Cases, Power Supplies and Cooling' started by The VCR King, Apr 3, 2016.

  1. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    [​IMG]
    :mad: Yup. Walked in on my PC being unresponsive with a black screen and no power going to USB so I had to switch the power supply on and off to get it to reboot. I walked in on this at 8:45 and according What do I need to look at next? o_O
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2016
  2. Laquer Head

    Laquer Head Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,226
    :confused: oh god, not again....
     
    The VCR King likes this.
  3. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    My reaction exactly...
     
  4. beers

    beers Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,370
    What power profile are you using? What ACPI settings do you have in BIOS?
     
  5. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    I'm using the "High Performance" profile and I don't know what ACPI is. It is set to whatever default is because I reset my bios when I replaced the cmos battery. I'm kinda pissed because now I know I possibly wasted $60 on a new PSU and it's too late now because my old one is already in the trash and long gone.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2016
  6. spirit

    spirit Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,364
    Do you leave your PC on overnight? You mentioned you had been having some storms lately didn't you?

    Let's see if this carries on to see if it's a 'one off' thing or if it's going to be frequent (hopefully the former!). I'd advise only having your PC powered on when you are using it.
     
  7. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    Yes.

    Yes but the storms stopped overnight and according to event viewer this happened at 8:40 AM and I walked in on it at 8:45 AM after I woke up this morning.

    Can't do that. I have to have it always powered on because the whole family uses it now too. I also gave them instructions on how to reboot the PC in case this happens while I'm at school, which it did in the past.
     
  8. spirit

    spirit Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,364
    OK... why can't it be turned it off at night whilst presumably nobody is using it?

    If you make them user accounts they could turn it on as and when they need to use it?
     
  9. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    Wow. I can't believe I didn't think of that a long time ago. Will do!
     
    Punk likes this.
  10. spirit

    spirit Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,364
    If the reason you were leaving it on for them was so that you didn't need to enter a password for them or you didn't want them seeing your files or something then this is the solution. :) They can turn it on when you need it, log into their account, use it and then shut down afterwards.

    I'd be interested to see if the PC can manage a day with no shut downs though. Turn it on when you get up, leave it on all day, turn it off at night. No reason to have it on at night.
     
  11. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    It'll go weeks at a time without shutting down and it was never powered off until the thing happened this morning. I mean before I replaced the PSU it happened daily but now it's only happened once a week later so I must be getting something right.
     
  12. johnb35

    johnb35 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    41,799
    Here is where I would tear the thing apart and rebuild it from scratch. Verify there are no loose screws between motherboard and case, do some deep cleaning and put it back together and see what happens. You've had one issue after another with this machine.
     
    Punk, spirit and The VCR King like this.
  13. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    I'll try that thanks
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2016
  14. spirit

    spirit Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,364
    Rebuilding is a good idea. Make sure that you have the correct number of brass motherboard standoffs and that they're in the correct places too.
     
  15. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    Ok. Now, do you have a guess of what else could be causing KERNEL POWER EVENT 41?
     
  16. spirit

    spirit Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,364
    Motherboard shorting? It just sounds like the system lost power unexpectedly so yeah motherboard short could be it. That's why I recommend making sure you have the correct number of brass standoffs installed and also making sure that they are in the correct places.
     
  17. The VCR King

    The VCR King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,898
    So you're telling me all these years and hundreds of dollars in repairs between me and the previous owner and it could've just been a loose screw?! If that end up being the case I'm going to be so pissed...... but I'll probably get a good laugh too...
     
  18. beers

    beers Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,370
    It's difficult to isolate without much for on site troubleshooting ;)

    I'd probably reformat while you're at it to get some degree of baseline (and also since it's been a while). It kind of sounds like you'd rather give up, but it will be difficult to get something better for what you can get for it.
     
    Geoff and spirit like this.
  19. spirit

    spirit Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,364
    Well I think your old power supply was bad so a new one was a good investment. You've had your new one for a few days now and it's been fine until this incident. I'd be tempted to check the motherboard and make sure it isn't shorting (if memory serves me correctly I may have advised you did this 2 years ago when you joined but I don't think you were up to it). Reinstalling Windows sounds like a good idea too. It would be interesting to see how many issues you get after you've rebuilt it and checked it's all OK and once you have a new installation of Windows on it. I'd take this opportunity to install Windows onto your SSD and games onto the HDD too, make sure whilst you are installing Windows you only have the SSD plugged in and also ensure the SATA mode is set to AHCI in the BIOS.
     
    The VCR King and beers like this.
  20. spirit

    spirit Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,364
    @The VCR King just read your post again. No power to USB sounds a lot like a short. Check you have the right standoffs and the board's I/O shield are OK.
     
    Punk likes this.

Share This Page