Western digital external 2tb drive, write protected, not showing in my computer

brendo8686

Hi there
i have a wd 2tb external which is new
Used for first time at familys house-brang home same day and coppied stuff off my other external to it
left on over night to copy everything over
woke up to windows saying some files directory names were too long so cancelled the last 1 percent of copying over
didnt cancell so i forced it to by turning off pc or pulling out the usb cable (cant remember which but one of the two is what i would have done)

this was all in the space of about 48 hours of opening the box and using the drive

now its not showing up in my computer
disk management says it not initialized-wont let me run mbr or gpt-says its write protected

ive dowloaded heaps of tools including WD's diagnostic tool
WD tool says theres too many bad sectors

im no expert but dont bad sectors take ages to form? not 48hrs?

any advice would be good

Nanobyte

You don't seem to have found the "Safely Remove Hardware" icon in the System Tray. Disconnecting a USB drive in the middle of data transfers is likely to screw it up as you seem to have illustrated. That can cause loss of data or a corrupt file system.

I'm not sure how you recover. You may need to reformat the drive. I would look in Disk Management in Administrative Tools to see if the drive is still shown (with no drive letter). Someone else may have some brilliant ideas.

brendo8686

You don't seem to have found the "Safely Remove Hardware" icon in the System Tray. Disconnecting a USB drive in the middle of data transfers is likely to screw it up as you seem to have illustrated. That can cause loss of data or a corrupt file system.

I'm not sure how you recover. You may need to reformat the drive. I would look in Disk Management in Administrative Tools to see if the drive is still shown (with no drive letter). Someone else may have some brilliant ideas.

There wasnt really a choice