What degree should I go for

What's more preferred by jobs in the technology industry.

• Degrees

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Certifications

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

DizzyDez34

I am a few months out from the end of my military contract and I want to go to school. I want to learn how computers work inside and out but my main interest is the physical hardware. I want to know how to build a computer and what parts do what. im just not exactly sure what degree that would fall under. I have no experience in these fields so I'd be starting from the bottom. Any guidance is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

lincsman

All I can suggest is, watch youtube videos, as in instructional videos. For example, a video on how to install a motherboard. But in reality, there's a lot to learn. Just ask around and watch videos and eventually you will learn, but on this forum you're going to have to ask specific questions. I'm a certified technician so I'll give you a start.
Processor (CPU): handles all the calculations, instructions and processes all the information. If you are building a computer, this is one of the most important parts to sink your money into
RAM: stands for "random access memory." This is where information is temporarily stored, because taking it right from the hard drive would be so slow. So the computer loads it into the RAM, so that it can access it very quickly. When you open a program, it loads it onto the RAM, and then when you close the program, it erases it
Hard Drive (or solid state drive): This is where everything is permanently stored unless deleted. So all of your programs, pictures, videos etc. are all stored onto the hard drive, or these days people have solid state drives as well. A solid state drive is chip memory as apposed to the magnetic discs of a hard drive, which is much faster and more reliable.