What is your daily life like in IT?

Topcat26

What is your daily work life like working in IT?

Please tell me what your title is so I can get an idea about what I want to do. (Right now looking at network technician so if you are doing that or know a lot of about it please don't be afraid to share)

voyagerfan99

Master of Turning Things Off and Back On Again
Staff member
I'm a network admin and work for an MSP (managed service provider). My day consists of killing tickets all day, every day. I do everything from a simple password reset, to restoring files from a Datto backup, to doing workstation rebuilds, etc. Anything and everything.

So when you go looking for a job, get a job at an MSP because you'll get to touch loads of types of technology since every client has different needs.

beers

Staff member
I'm a network engineer with a growing electronic health care software vendor.

Currently my daily life is about 50% project work and 50% operations/tshoot. A lot of Cisco Nexus (data center), ASR (router), ASA (firewalls), ACI (SDN) as well as F5 work. We also deploy a lot of Meraki devices. Typically just providing connectivity into our cloud application whether it be dedicated MPLS circuits, VPN connectivity, building out new hosted environments or helping a client with their own network performance problems that impact our application. I've been trying to find a role that blends wireless, voice and security.

What do you like to do or what interests you?

Topcat26

I'm a network engineer with a growing electronic health care software vendor.