Which motherboard to pick?

Greenadine

I'm still fairly new to picking parts for an upgrade, but in a few days I'd like to upgrade my motherboard, processor and RAM. A while ago one of the RAM's broke ()I've been searching for the right combination of motherboard and processor, but I can't really find my dream combo.

My current system (I bought this PC from someone else in used state. I just needed a starting point for me to upgrade later):
Intel Core i7 950 (3,066 GHz - 3,333 GHz) Processor
ASUS P6T SE Motherboard
8GB (4x2) DDR3 667 MHz RAM
MSI GeForce GTX 560 TI Hawk Graphics Card.
OCZ Agility3 60GB SSD.
Seagate Barracudda Green 2TB Harddrive.
Chieftek (unknown model) 500W Power Supply.

I first wanted to upgrade to any Z170A motherboard together with an Intel Core i5 6600K, but after a while of research, it wasn't the best option for me. After that I wanted to upgrade to an AMD FX-9590 together with an MSI 970 Gaming motherboard, but soon noticed that the motherboard does not support CPU's with higher that 200W TDP. And since the FX-9590 220W TDP, it's not compatible.

I'd really like to get both processor and motherboard, but since they cannot go together, I'd like to replace one of them. If I'd had to get a different CPU, I'd like one with (almost) similar performances and price. If I'd had to get a different motherboard, I'd still like one around the same price, and also with a black-red theme. I haven't found any replacements yet.

Also, I mainly play games such as League of Legends, GTA V and Rocket League, I create simple indie games and I also do photo and video editing on this computer.

I do not know which combo I should pick. Anyone who can help me?

beers

Staff member
Please don't.

What budget are you working with? It's usually a toss up between Kaby Lake (Z270, 7700k/7600k) and AMD Ryzen, all of which were recently released.

Keep in mind you'd also have to buy new RAM as both of those platforms only support DDR4.

Greenadine

Please don't.