Windows Crash on New Mobo Installation

jkenny

I am new to computer building and I just installed a new motherboard in my Dell desktop. I started it up and everything was fine but when I go to start windows it crashes about thalf a second into the startup screen. The motherboard I just installed is an MSI PM8M-V my processor is a Celeron D.

Geoff

VIP Member
Because once you change a major part such as the motherboard, there is a high likely hood of windows not working correctly. To solve the problem, you will need to re-install windows.

jkenny

I just tried to boot from CD and it crashed again. It just gets as far as "Windows is inspecting your hardware configuration" and the PC shuts off. Is there perhaps a bios setting that needs to be edited or something, the manual that came with the motherboard wasn't to explanatory.

Update: Hmm... My CPU might be overheating, theres an automatic CPU shutdown temperature selection. It appears that was the problem, so far...

Update: Now, it seems I have a rather bad CPU overheaating problem. I set the shutoff temperature to 203 F and during installation it shut off again. @ idle in the BIOS menu it is running at 84 C.

Last edited:

ceewi1

VIP Member
:eek: If you're getting those temps, you couldn't have properly installed the CPU HSF. Make sure the HSF is firmly seated, and you've used an appropriate amount of thermal paste.

PC eye

banned