4870 X2 or GTX 280

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Monitors' started by mep916, Aug 12, 2008.

?

Should I get a 4870 X2 or GTX 280?

Poll closed Sep 11, 2008.
  1. 4870 X2

    18 vote(s)
    30.5%
  2. GTX 280

    27 vote(s)
    45.8%
  3. Wait for the price to drop on the X2

    7 vote(s)
    11.9%
  4. I don't care what you do :P

    7 vote(s)
    11.9%
  1. just a noob

    just a noob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,721
    how do you like it, i'm wondering if i should get a gtx or gx2 after my birthday
     
  2. mep916

    mep916 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,995
    Haven't received it yet. Should be here this Friday.
     
  3. Scubie67

    Scubie67 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,152

    "The lure of the Green side is strong young Skywalker":D
     
  4. ScOuT

    ScOuT VIP Member

    Messages:
    2,651
    The GTX 280 is slowly falling in price right now. Most of them you can get for right around $400. I would be willing to bet they will be in the mid 300 range in a month. Everybody across the world knows that the 4870 is the best price:performance ratio right now, Nvidia is loosing money to ATI big time! If you could have waited about 30 days and I bet you would have gotten a good deal! :) See....it's already happening :)

    PNY GeForce GTX 280 1GB for $375 after a $75 rebate!
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814133228

    Good choice on a card.....Enjoy it!
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2008
  5. mep916

    mep916 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,995
    Yeah, I almost bought the PNY model...

    So far, I'm really satisfied. I'm running my clocks at 702/1512/1242 when running [email protected] (although the OC only cuts 20 seconds off each frame :p), and my GPU temp is at 76*C at full load (fan speed @ 75%). FahMon is estimating 7975 PPD with this card. :eek:

    I'm gonna install Assassins Creed today and spend some time gaming. Hopefully I can get the Crysis Benchmark working again...been having problems with it. :rolleyes:

    Oh, one problem I've noticed is with my Tracers. After installing the GTX, my PC wouldn't POST with the Tracers installed. :confused:

    LOL @ the seven that voted for option 4. :p
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2008
  6. scooter

    scooter banned

    Messages:
    2,325
    lol!
     
  7. mac550

    mac550 New Member

    Messages:
    1,625
    GTX 280 all the way :D
     
  8. Karlos1981

    Karlos1981 New Member

    Messages:
    64
    I hear the x2 is faster but in my experience duel gpu cards bring nothing but pain.

    Id go GTX280.

    Although ATI are kicking Nvidias ass bang for buck wise and for that and making Nvidia drop the crazy prices i will always be greatful.
     
  9. Praetor

    Praetor Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    20,023
    Congrats on your choice (although i would have gotten the X2 myself if I had a chance to buy again), hope you enjoy it.... not that anything will change :p
     
  10. just a noob

    just a noob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,721
    mep, do have you compared it to the gx2? otherwise, i take it, its a monster?
     
  11. Kornowski

    Kornowski VIP Member

    Messages:
    17,026
    It doesn't boot with your Tracers? That's odd! How's it going then?

    Big card in your computer, big hole where your wallet used to be, eh? :p
     
  12. Kornowski

    Kornowski VIP Member

    Messages:
    17,026
    It doesn't boot with your Tracers? That's odd! How's it going then?

    Big card in your computer, big hole where your wallet used to be, eh? :p
     
  13. mep916

    mep916 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,995
    Thanks. :) Yeah, I waited a long time (almost three months) for the X2, but in the end, I think the GTX suits me better. It should hold me over 'til the next GPU release. :p

    :mad:

    Never owned a GX2, so I can't speak from personal experience. I dunno, I guess you can look up the benchmarks. But yeah, I think it's awesome. It's a folding monster and seems to handle Assassins Creed well on the highest settings. Still can't get the Crysis bench program to work, but meh....

    It was strange...wouldn't even post. I'm gonna try it again.

    haha. I still have plenty in my PayPal account. ;)
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2008
  14. ThatGuy16

    ThatGuy16 VIP Member

    Messages:
    5,861
    That is weird that it wouldn't post. Anyway, i hope you enjoy the 280 :)

    I'm taking donations, kthx :D
     
  15. Kornowski

    Kornowski VIP Member

    Messages:
    17,026
    Me too! Hint! ;)
     
  16. mep916

    mep916 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,995
    I'm running my trusty XMS2 sticks, atm. Seems like whenever I have problems, they solve them. :p
     
  17. Kornowski

    Kornowski VIP Member

    Messages:
    17,026
    XMS2's are awesome! Ah, the good 'ole days...
     
  18. mep916

    mep916 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,995
    Yup. First set of DDR2 I owned. Never had to RMA them either. :)
     
  19. just a noob

    just a noob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,721
    get cellshock ram, lol german efficiency
     
  20. mep916

    mep916 Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,995
    Couldn't find any prices on the Cellshock...
     

Share This Page