Best Desktop For The Price

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
Should I be spending that much money on ram, I mean, right now Im about to spend nearly 800$, and ram takes 185$ of that! the ram cost more than the mother board and processor. Geez, is it really worth all that money?
If you've got the money and dont desparately need it for something else, go with the ram, you wont be dissapointed. I've ran 'stock' memory all my life and only one stick has ever given me problems (256MB out of roughly 150GB that I've seen pass my hands ... pretty nice odds really). Realistically if you get "stock" memory, you're going to have less OC capability and more constraints here and there but thats about it :) ... if you want a concrete reccomendation: go for it.

EMO-TOCROSS

We'll, I am a student, and the more money I spend, the less money I have for other things that just might come up. And The total of the entire setup with 1GB of ram is $733 , Where The total of the entire setup with 512 of ram from the same company is $642. I do have an extra DDR PC3200 256mb stick laying in my closet. So I would be saving ALOT Of money, nearly a hundred dollars, for something that I dont necacarly need. Because If I went with the $642 Setup, I could also but on my extra ram, and theres like 756mb of ram right there. Isnt that good enough?

Praetor

Administrator
Staff member
And The total of the entire setup with 1GB of ram is $733 , Where The total of the entire setup with 512 of ram from the same company is $642.
My previous post was commenting on "premium memory" vs "stock memory" -- NOT quantity. I will advise you to go after 1GB regardless.

I do have an extra DDR PC3200 256mb stick laying in my closet.
Tough call but if I had to make it, I would consider going to a small computer store and working out an exchange deal ... if you get stock memory, make absolutely sure it's dual-channel capable as you will want to squeeze as much performance out of it as possible.