Building my first gaming PC

spinnnerrr

Hey guys. I'm new to the computer scene. I've been doing some reading lately on what all the individual parts due to make a computer work and it's all very interesting stuff! I'm actually considering going to school now for computer engineering :)

So, I bought a Cooler Master Storm Stryker full tower for my case.

My first question is, how do I figure out what motherboards will and will not work with my chosen tower? I would like to get myself a motherboard from Asus.

This video is what I'm aiming for as my final product. I do plan on using liquid cooling as well. I looked up his motherboard specs but unfortunately it's Windows 8 ready and I do not like Windows 8!

Thanks! :)

BTW! I don't know if you would realize this or not... but by spending just about $200 on the case alone, my budget isn't really on a leash ;D ... but I'm not spending $1000 on GPUs...... not even for 4k gaming. That's just nuts. 1080 res is cool with me.

edit: okay, so I did some more reading. The form factor is what determines whether or not the motherboard will fit my case. ATX seems to be the standard form factor. I also see "extended" ATX. I'm just gonna go ahead and assume those are motherboards with dual CPU sockets.

edit 2: Okay so, I'm just going to use this thread as a notebook, if you will, to record my build. When I have a question that I can't find via Google, I'll be coming here! :)

Last edited:

ninjabubbles3

I cant understand your question, pretty much any motherboard will work. Asus makes good mobos, but gigabyte and MSI ones are good too.

What is your budget? About one third of it should be your GPU. A good midhigh end one is like 300ish dollars to 400 dollars.

For CPU, a i5 4690K or i7 4790K are very good.

spinnnerrr

I wasn't aware of form factors when I originally posted this thread. I kinda answered my question myself :)