Gaming computer build

Hey everyone. I want to build a gaming computer. I've never done anything even remotely like this. So I have a bunch of questions/concerns going into it. I've watched some videos and the process itself looks pretty simple, I just don't really know what to pick out. What's good, what's bad, what works with what, where to spend money, where not to, things like that.

Basically what I'm looking for is information, ideas, what you guys would do. Personal feedback that I don't get from videos and stuff I've been reading. I play all sorts of different games, I want the computer to be powerful and as up to date as I can get it within my $2,000 budget. I'm not firm on the $2,000, so if it's worth it to spend a little more to get a lot more I'm all for it.

So what are your suggestions as far as parts? Any tips that will save a first timer a lot of headaches as far as the build goes? Any advice will help, I'm a carpenter and I'm stepping way outside of my world on this, but it seems like a fun and satisfying project. Thanks for taking the time to read this, any help would be greatly appreciated. I'd also love it if maybe someone knowledgeable would be willing to step up and kind of mentor me thru this project.

Intel_man

VIP Member
Is the 2k budget only for the computer tower? Or does that include other peripherals?

Are you in the US? (this is so people here know where to link the parts to buy as prices differ from country to country)

Is the 2k budget only for the computer tower? Or does that include other peripherals?

Are you in the US? (this is so people here know where to link the parts to buy as prices differ from country to country)

Yeah all for the tower, unless a good monitor and keyboard is crazy expensive, I haven really looked into those yet. I'm in Washington's state in the US.

Deadpool

1-

CPU: Intel Core i5-7600K 3.8GHz Quad-Core Processor ($238.75 @ OutletPC)