help me build a $3000-3500 computer

jorday

OK guys, here's my story. I need a new desktop. I have finally been talked into building the system myself, but I need gome guidance since this is my first time. I had ordered a dell xps 700, but I canceled the order just in time. It was about a $3800 system. I would like to spend 3000-3500ish and build myself a much better rig for the money.

There are many things I don't understand, but I want to learn. I need recommendations for every single part of the computer down to even the smallest detail. I will need every single component required to make the system complete. In other words, I'm starting from nothing.

I am completely lost on the mother boards. I have no idea which ones are good/bad and how to go about choosing one.

Computer case...same problem as with mother board.

Video card. I know the nvidia 8800 cards seem to be about the best around right now. I think 1 8800GTS will suffice for me, but why is it when I look on new egg it's like there are 20 different kinds of the same video card?

Hard drive, I require a fast, high quality hard drive, but not a lot of hard drive space. I have no idea what to choose. Would a second hard drive for storage be a good choice?

RAM...Lost again. I don't know what is good ram and what is bad ram, or most importantly, what is best for me.

Optical drives...I want 2 drives so I can quickly and easily copy dvds, etc. Need suggestions here also please.

Processor. I will use the core 2 duo by intel. either E6700 or E6600. I do understand that this will determine my choice of motherboard, but I still don't know which will best suit me.

Power supply. I need some solid suggestions here as well.

I'm sure I'm missing things here so please let me know what they are.