How to extend my network by using second router in safe way ?

ZAX0L

Hello ,

I want to extend my network (Wi-Fi) in a safe way meaning that I have second router which I want to use to extend my Wi-Fi network. In the safe way I mean the router which I will use to extend my Wi-Fi can't sniff packets from my primary router if that's make sens. Also I want to have different Wi-Fi network name for the second router (the one which I will extend the network) and use the same broadband. Is that possible to realise ? I'm new to the whole idea of extending my network and I'm a bit confused about it because I do this first time tho.

Any help will be appreciated.
ZAX0L

ZAX0L

Yes I can but I would like to avoid it if it's possible tho.

P.S Just small question because I have never used switch. Does switch just stay on the desk and work or does it have like admin panel where you need to configure everythink for example like 192.168.0.1 from router.

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member
Wait, do you have a switch or router that you are wanting to use? Your other thread was about a switch. What model of switch did you get?

ZAX0L

I have bought that -> Switch

I want to use router but I bough switch to extend the RJ-45 ports.

Going back to your question, Yes I can hook up the second router to my primary router using RJ-45 cable. But what about that packets sniffing and how to set up everything ?

johnb35

Administrator
Staff member
That is an unmanaged switch, plug cables in and no configuring needed.