Looking for a Laptop for College

michaelfrog

Hello, I'm looking for a laptop to buy.

My budget is up to $1500 but I would like to only spend $600- $800 on the laptop or even less if it can do everything I need.

I am buying this laptop for college. I would like it to last at least 4 years. My major is Business Administration so I think the most computing power I'll be doing with it is probably presentations. I don't have an art class or a media class or anything else I can think of that would need a very powerful laptop.

The games I'll be playing on it will be pretty outdated (baldur's gate and Morrowwind for reference) and I never watch movies on a laptop. I'm getting a desktop for the more cutting edge gaming after I see how much I spend on the laptop so this laptop is basically school orientated.

I had a laptop in highschool for 4 years (we were randomly selected to test it out and I got to say laptops even as early as high school are a big plus when in the right hands) and I was one of the people to take good enough care of it without needing a replacement or parts so I don't neccesarily need a more durable laptop if it costs more.

Oh and I know how to insert RAM, harddrive, etc into a normal computer but not laptops if anyone suggests I switch parts for the laptop. I think depending on the laptop, certain parts cannot be switched out though.

Just trying to get as much information into this as I could to be helpful after reading the forum guidlines.

I've also did some looking around myself and I'm thinking about this laptop for $550: http://configure.us.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?c=us&cs=19&l=en&oc=DNDOM01&s=dhs Changes I made are: RAM: 3GB, Harddrive: 350GB

I'm not extremely laptop/ computer savvy so I definitly need some help, thanks.

Last edited:

filisili50